Pingyao Train :
Pingyao Beijing Train
Pingyao Xi an Train
Pingyao Datong Train
Pingyao Chengdu
Pingyao Taiyuan Train
Pingyao Tour :
1 Day Tour
2 Days Tour
3-5 Days Tour
China & Pingyao Tour
    The compound was first built in 1756 in the Qing Dynasty and renovated twice and enlarged once. When people first saw the compound, they were astonished to find that the complex was so large and magnificent; however, few knew that the value of the compound was less than one percent of the family's (fortune) asset. Situated in the central part of Qiao Town, Qi Xian County in Shanxi Province, it occupies an area of 8,274 square meters (about two acres) with a construction area of 3,870 square meters (about one acre). It consists of six main courtyards, twenty smaller courtyards and 313 rooms. The family built the complex like a castle for safety considerations, as well as to create tranquil surroundings in which to relax, away from the furious competition of the business world. With three sides facing the street, it has ten-meter (about 32 feet) high parapet walls (a kind of wall as high as the house, used to keep the yard safe). Some girls in large families could not resist the temptation of the outside world, so they managed to climb up the high wall to look at the outside world that was forbidden to them. Gradually, this kind of wall became known as 'Nv'er' (daughter) wall. The exquisite design and meticulous craftsmanship make these walls unrivalled.